Winning teams and projects

The second annual Research Competition was opened to the entire nation, with the Finals being held virtually in October 2021 via zoom, boasting delegates from most states and territories in Australia. This year also marked the introduction of a new junior division, with many quality submissions from many younger mathematicians. Once again, the competition was fierce, resulting in a two-way tie in both the senior and intermediate divisions.

Below is the list of winners and finalists for the 2021 round. The prize money is awarded per team and the 2021 Research Competition questions and can be downloaded from the link at the bottom of the list.

Senior Overall Winners received $1050

  • Darwin High School (NT) – Alishba Saeed
  • John Monash Science School (VIC) – Hita Keshav, Thomas Ma, & Emily Papastamatopoulos

Senior Finalists received $600

  • John Monash Science School (VIC) - Jordan Stirzaker, Harmohit Singh & Ravon Chew
  • John Monash Science School (VIC) - XiaoTong (Lisa) Liu, Oviya Ponkathirvarathan & Aabshaar Ahmad
  • Queensland Academy for Health Sciences (QLD) – Jason Sinclair, Anna Tian & Thien Tran
  • St Columba Anglican School (NSW) – Benoy Drenzla & David Jin

Intermediate Overall Winners received $1050

  • Newington College (NSW) – Minh Nguyen & Yueran (Preston) Zhang
  • Presbyterian Ladies’ College (VIC) – Liah Wu & Yunaa Tae

Intermediate Finalists received $600

  • Methodist Ladies’ College (VIC) – Stella Kirkham, Isabelle Li & Lily Wang
  • Scotch College (VIC) – Justin Chan & Samiyar Samiee
  • Scotch College (VIC) – Witter Onggara, Yup Meng Quek  & Stephen Zong

Junior Overall Winner received $1500

  • Doncaster Gardens Primary School & MathsInside Studio (VIC) – Tao Ma

Junior Finalists received $600

  • Epping North Public School (NSW) – Sanjit Babu & James Cox
  • Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School (NSW) – Cameron Feiner & Paul Hardjawana
  • Our Lady of the Rosary Catholic Primary School (NSW) – Matthew Milicevic & David West
  • Presbyterian Ladies’ College (VIC) – Sinastha Au & Chloe Shen

Download projects and questions

Previous Winners and Finalists

Use the menu below to download the finalist projects and question booklets from previous years.